top of page

Newsletter, September 2015


  • Congratulations to Cheryl Praeger, who was inducted into the Western Australian Science Hall of Fame.

  • Congratulations to John Bamberg, who was promoted to Associate Professor.

  • Congratulations to John Bamberg, who was awarded a UWA Vice-Chancellor's Mid-Career Research Award.

  • An Honorary Doctorate of Science from Yazd University, Iran, was conferred on Cheryl Praeger during the 46th Annual Iranian Mathematical Society Conference, 24-28 August 2015. Here is a link to the ceremony.

  • Melissa Lee participated in the 3rd Heidelberg Laureate Forum, Heidelberg, Germany, 23-28 August 2015.

  • John Bamberg and Michael Giudici are now Managing Editors of the Electronic Journal of Combinatorics.

  • Eric Swartz and Simon Smith have both finished their appointments at UWA.

  • Stephen Glasby spoke at the Graduiertenkolleg Experimentelle und konstruktive Algebra, RWTH Aachen University, Germany, 2 July 2015.

  • Irene Pivotto made research visits to Fuzou University, China (17-30 May 2015), Simon Fraser University, Canada (5-21 June 2015), and the University of Waterloo (21-28 June 2015), giving talks at Fuzou and Waterloo.

  • Cheryl Praeger will give research seminars at Bu-Ali Sina University, Hamedan, Iran (August 12); University of Bristol (October 21); University of Lancaster (October 28); University of St Andrews (November 26).

  • Melissa Lee will visit Nicola Durante at the University of Naples, Italy, 1-11 September 2015.

  • Tomasz Popiel will visit Alice Niemeyer at RWTH Aachen University, Germany, 4-18 September 2015.

  • Daniel Hawtin will attend a Summer School on Finite Groups and Related Geometrical Structures, Venice, Italy, 7-8 September 2015.

  • Daniel Hawtin will visit Neil Gillespie at Bristol University (until 12 October 2015) and Cheryl Praeger at the University of Oxford (until 17 November 2015).

  • Joy Morris (University of Lethbridge) is the 2016 Cheryl E. Praeger Visiting Fellow.


SymOmega is a mathematical blog run by CMSC members John Bamberg, Michael Giudici and Gordon Royle.


Published papers

Accepted papers

Submitted papers

Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page